Meet Bob

Trying new things has always been something I wanted to be more adventurous with.  I am a creature of habit and feel more comfortable with routines and schedules I am familiar with.

I have always wanted to try kick boxing so when Tracey suggested it, it was my opportunity to try it without the added anxiety of having to do it alone.

boxing

I wasn’t sure what to expect, I was nervous about not knowing what I was doing, about being yelled at because I could keep up and terrified of the feeling of not being able to keep up.

But nervous and all, off to Big Hit Studios in Oakville we went. The studio is perfect, it’s clean, very nicely decorated and very organized.  They have motivational sayings on the wall…a look that is right up my ally.

We were super early (ok I’m always early) so it gave us some time to get signed up and hang out until the veterans started to arrive.  And we were introduced to our new friend Bob.  Meet Bob.

bob

We were told that the coach for the class we were taking was one of the owners.  Ok, anxiety now in full speed.  Return fears of being yelled at and not being able to do what I was supposed to be doing.  Enter Gidon.  He was so nice, he pushed and encouraged just the right amount to make me feel comfortable but not want to give up.  It took a bit to get into the rhythm of the combinations but none of them were too difficult to eventually pick up (at a slower speed than the rest of the class was moving but I still did it!).   When I was totally doing it incorrectly he took the time to demonstrate how to do the moves properly.

kick-boxing

I have to admit I was watching the clock the last twenty minutes of the class and I was sure my lungs were going to just give up but…it was SO MUCH FUN.  I’m hooked.  I was exhausted when I got home but I still felt great.  And the 45 minutes class burned 756 calories so it doesn’t get much better than that!  I can’t wait to go back, Sunday I will try the class that actually teaches the moves…I feel like after last night’s class, this one will be a breeze.  But I truly am looking forward to trying out all the classes they offer.

I’m so glad I found something that I like so much, hopefully that feeling lasts as I attend more classes.  It’s fun, releases stress (let’s be honest, the best part of class it the part when you get to just go at Bob with all you’ve got), and it is a good work out.  I highly suggest trying a class out…if you live around me, come with us.  I know it’s always easier to go with someone and I’m so happy I have Tracey!  See you soon Bob!!

bob-punch

Hugs from a girl, trying to find her place in this world  xoxxox

15826165_10158336710375221_5985056775413908008_n

Leave a Reply

